About Chandra Archive Proposer Instruments & Calibration Newsletters Data Analysis HelpDesk Calibration Database NASA Archives & Centers Chandra Science Links

List of All Announcements

Chandra Electronic Bulletin No. 4

             |                                            |
             |              CCC  XX   XX    OOO           |
Chandra      |             CC     XX XX    OO OO          | CXC
Electronic   |            CC       XXX    OO   OO         | Number 4
Bulletin     |             CC     XX XX    OO OO          | March
             |              CCC  XX   XX    OOO           | 2001
             |                                            |

Welcome to the Chandra X-ray Center's Electronic News Bulletin Number 4.

If you would like to unsubscribe from this alias, please let us know by filling
out a Helpdesk ticket (cxc.harvard.edu and click on "Helpdesk").        


1. "Two Years of Science with Chandra" Symposium 


               Two Years of Science with Chandra

                     September 5-7, 2001

                       Washington, DC

We are pleased to announce plans for a symposium "Two Years of Science
with Chandra" to be held at The Washington Plaza Hotel, Washington,
D.C. Wednesday, 5 September 2001 - Friday, 7 September 2001. This
meeting is organized by the Chandra X-ray Center, Marshall Space
Flight Center, Goddard Space Flight Center, and the University of
Maryland.  The conference web site:


now allows on-line registration and submission of abstracts, 
and queries on science and logistics topics.

This meeting will highlight key science results from the first two
years of operation of the Chandra X-ray Observatory. The meeting will
include discoveries made with the impressive imaging and spectroscopy
capabilities of this great observatory. Virtually every astrophysics
topic will be covered. These will include stellar coronae, star
formation, compact objects, black holes, AGN, quasars, supernova
remnants, clusters of galaxies, solar system objects and the
resolution of the long standing mystery as to the origin of the X-ray
background. Contributions covering recent results from XMM-Newton and
other X-ray observatories are also encouraged.

* This meeting will also be the 12th Annual Maryland Astrophysics Conference 

Key Dates:

Early Registration Deadline	21 May 2001
Abstracts Due			15 June 2001
Final Registration Deadline	15 July 2001
Final Program			6 August 2001
Meeting Dates			5-7 Sept 2001

Scientific Organizing Committee:

Mike Garcia (Chair)	SAO	garcia@cfa.harvard.edu
Harvey Tananbaum	SAO	ht@head-cfa.harvard.edu
Brad Wargelin		SAO	bradw@head-cfa.harvard.edu
Andrea Prestwich	SAO	andreap@head-cfa.harvard.edu
Aneta Siemiginowska	SAO	aneta@head-cfa.harvard.edu
Martin Weisskopf	MSFC	martin@smoker.msfc.nasa.gov
Chryssa Kouveliotou	MSFC	chryssa.kouveliotou@msfc.nasa.gov
Ron Elsner		MSFC	elsner@avalon.msfc.nasa.gov
Nick White		GSFC	nwhite@lheapop.gsfc.nasa.gov
Rob Petre		GSFC	rob@lheapop.gsfc.nasa.gov
Jane Turner		GSFC/UMBC	turner@lucretia.gsfc.nasa.gov 
Andrew Wilson		U Md	wilson@astro.umd.edu
Steve Holt		Olin/Babson	stephen.holt@olin.edu
Herman Marshall		MIT	hermanm@space.mit.edu
Kathryn Flanagan	MIT	kaf@space.mit.edu
Gordon Garmire		Penn St.	garmire@astro.psu.edu
Martin Ward		Leicster	 mjw@star.le.ac.uk
Bert Brinkman		SRON	A.C.Brinkman@sron.nl

Last modified: 12/03/10

The Chandra X-Ray Center (CXC) is operated for NASA by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory.
60 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138 USA.    Email: cxcweb@head.cfa.harvard.edu
Smithsonian Institution, Copyright © 1998-2004. All rights reserved.