Chandra Users' Committee

Meeting agendas, presentations, reports and responses for past meetings.

Chandra Observing Policy

For a summary of the observing policy of the Chandra X-ray Observatory, including information on proprietary periods, large projects, and distribution of observing time between GOs and GTOs, please see chapter 3 of the CfP.

Contacting the Chandra Users' Committee

The Users' Committee represents the larger astronomical community. If you have concerns about Chandra, you may contact one or more of the members listed below. Click here to email the whole Users' Committee.

Chandra Users Committee Membership List

Andrew FruchterSpace Telescope Science
Chris FryerLos Alamos National
Anjali GuptaColumbia State Community
Rosario Gonzalez-RiestraEuropean Space
Bret Lehmer (CUC Chair)University of
Kristin MadsenGoddard Space Flight
Raffaella MarguttiUniversity of California,
Dave PooleyTrinity
Blagoy RangelovTexas
John SilvermanUniversity of

Ex Officio, Non-Voting
Jeff HayesNASA HQ
Stefan ImmlerNASA HQ
Allyn TennantNASA/MSFC, Project
Martin WeisskopfNASA/

CXC Coordinator
Andrea PrestwichCXC Director's

Previous Users' Committee Members

Purpose of the Users' Committee

The Committee will ensure a broad-based community input to CXC functions and will provide the general user with a formal mechanism for influencing the CXC. It will ensure that the CXC, the general users, and NASA regularly meet together to discuss CXC operations and the needs of users. All services provided by the CXC will be subjects of consideration.

The committee will be advisory to the CXC and will make its reports to the Director of the CXC.


The committee will consist of 10 - 15 members representing the principal groups concerned with Chandra development and the general Chandra User Community. The membership will be predominantly from outside the Chandra development teams and the CXC. The chairperson will be from the outside user community.

Members will be appointed by the Chair and CXC Director in concurrence. The principal basis for selection will be scientific or technical expertise. A reasonable effort will be made to achieve a group representative of the variety of user home environments: academic and other institutions; large and small organizations; geographic distribution; etc. Members will normally serve for 3 years, and membership will be rotated in a manner to be determined. Expertise of members will cover a range of instrumentation and scientific techniques.

Names of committee members and the meeting schedule will be widely disseminated so potential Chandra users will have the opportunity to discuss their questions and concerns with committee members before the meetings.


The Users' Committee has generally met twice per year, with a shift to one in-person meeting each Fall starting in 2011.

Last modified: 09/29/21